Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Part of the Department of Homeland Security, the FEMA site includes information about on-going disaster responses, various response plans, key emergency management officials at the State and local levels, documents, and other resources.
Homeland Security Digital Library 2002-
This is a database that compiles documents relevant to homeland security policy and the national strategy related to that discipline. Information contained in the HDSL originates from federal, state and local government agencies, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. The collection maintains documents created since 2002, while some collections contain earlier documents that are relevant to current initiatives. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
National Hurricane Center
A center of the National Weather Service. Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.
National Library of Medicine: Disaster Information Management Research Center
The core mission of the DIMRC is to "provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. Our intent is to connect people to quality disaster health information and foster a culture of community resiliency."
National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration/Office of Response and Restoration
Access tools, information, and software for responders to oil spills, chemical accidents, hazardous materials releases, and ship groundings.
U.S Geological Survey
Has sections covering land-based natural hazards (earthquakes, floods, volcanoes).
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
This official site features press releases and other documents that define the role and work of DHS. Emphasis is on these areas: Emergencies and Disasters, Travel and Transportation, Immigration and Borders, Research and Technology, and Threats and Protection. Much of the focus is on terrorism, but natural disasters and other emergencies are also addressed. A good source for remarks by government officials on issues related to terrorism and national security.
State and Local Emergency Organizations
International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM)
IAEM is an association of local (city and county) emergency management officials. This site provides information on IAEM activities and membership. Selected issues of the newsletter are available online, as well as a bulletin board and discussion list.
National Emergency Management Association (NEMA)
NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials. The NEMA online library provides full-text access to documents and presentations from NEMA committees. This site also includes information on NEMA membership, conferences, job listings and a directory of Emergency Management contacts by state.
National Governor's Association (NGA)
From the NGA homepage, visit the Site Index and scroll to the Homeland Security and Technology Division. This will lead to sections on Bioterrorism, Emergency Management, and Homeland Security. Within these sections are links to several substantial, full-text publications, including a 2 volume Governor's Guide to Emergency Management, Domestic Preparedness Checklist, and presentations from the NGA Bioterrorism Summit.
New York City Office of Emergency Management (OEM)
plans and prepares for emergencies, educates the public about preparedness, coordinates emergency response and recovery, and collects and disseminates emergency information
CDC Zombie Preparedness
From the CDC "What first began as a tongue in cheek campaign to engage new audiences with preparedness messages has proven to be a very effective platform"
Disaster Mitigation Planning Assistance Website
Disaster planning website for cultural institutions, including libraries, museums, historical societies and archives help to mitigate damage to collections. A joint project of Library of Congress Preservation Directorate, the Center for Great Lakes Culture and the California Preservation Program.
Overseen by the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and dedicated to building a "nationwide interoperable broadband network that will help police, firefighters, emergency medical service professionals and other public safety officials stay safe and do their jobs."
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services/Office of The Assistant Secretary For Preparedness and Response
This office is responsible for coordinating Federal health, medical, and health related social services and recovery to major emergencies and Federally declared disasters including natural disasters, technological disasters, major transportation accidents, and terrorism. This site includes information on the office's Counter Terrorism Program, the National Disaster Medical System (NDMS), and the Metropolitan Medical Response System (MMRS)
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This extensive site includes health standards and statistics, fact sheets on health information and disease prevention, and health-related news stories. Brochures, software, and other publications are available for download and by order from CDC.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR).
This site features many news and information sources on toxic substances. Highlighights include ToxFAQs, a series of summaries about hazardous substances, HazDat, the database that provides information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites and from emergency events, and Minimal Risk Levels (MRLs) for hazardous substances. "Science Corner" is a gateway to environmental health information and resources on the Web.
Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
The Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a gateway to freely available online resources related to disaster medicine and public health. Resources include expert guidelines, factsheets, websites, research reports, articles, and other tools aimed at the public health community.
Ask a Government Librarian
NYC Buildings Information System