Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United Nations Relief Web
News and information on humanitarian emergencies and natural disasters, with a focus on improving relief efforts. Includes a searchable database of over 50,000 documents dating back to 1981 and an extensive collection of maps.
United Nations International Strategy for Risk Reduction
Focuses on creating disaster prevention strategies and reducing social and economic disruption caused by disasters. This site includes information about ISDR as well as UN documents on disaster reduction.
United Nations Digital Library: Reports
Reports are one of the most common UN publications and are for the most part available free online through this UN Library site. Remember to click on options to reorder results by date.
United Nations Development Programme
UNDP partners with United Nations relief agencies and helps countries to prepare for, avoid, and manage complex emergencies and disasters. This site provides extensive information and reports on UNDP projects.
United Nations Environment Programme
Provides leadership, research, and advocacy for global sustainable development.
European Community Humanitarian Office (ECHO)
ECHO's role is to provide humanitarian aid in response to natural disasters and armed conflict in countries outside the European Union. This site includes statistics, reports, and descriptions of ECHO's operations.
International Association of Emergency Managers
"The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM), which has 5,000+ members in 58 countries, is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting the goals of saving lives and protecting property during emergencies and disasters."
Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI)
A global network of more than 1,750 local and regional governments dedicated to developing resilient urban communities worldwide.
Global Information by Topic
UNICEF Country Statistics
Provides information on the status of CHILDREN by country.
Provides reports, statistics, and initiatives on EDUCATION in a global context.
Human Rights Watch
In-depth reports by topic and country on the state of HUMAN RIGHTS worldwide.
UN Human Rights Council
Published extensive authoritative reports on the status of HUMAN RIGHTS worldwide.
Stockholm International Peace Institute (SIPRI)
"SIPRI is an independent international institute that makes available its research into INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS, conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament..
World Health Organization
Provides extensive information on PUBLC HEALTH, including diseases, infection, and emergency risks.
Pan American Health Association
Regional office for the Americas of the World Health Association; provides extensive information on PUBLIC HEALTH in the area.
UN Refugee Agency
Provides extensive information and advocacy for REFUGEES, forcibly displaced communities, and stateless people.
BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives."
US State Department Country Reports
In depth fact sheets on US relations with countries and regions worldwide.
CIA World Factbook
Provides country overview including contains maps and information about people, geography, the economy, government, communication, transportation, and the military.
Provides background information, up-to-date reports, and statistics on countries worldwide.