Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Research Centers
Empirical Studies of Conflict (Princeton)
Provides demographic/socioeconomic data, information on geography, infrastructure, public opinion, and violence in Afghanistan, Colombia, Iraq, Pakistan, the Phillipines, and Vietnam. "Compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide."
Human Rights Web Archive (Columbia University)
"A searchable collection of archived copies of human rights websites created by non-governmental organizations, national human rights institutions, tribunals and individuals."
Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction
"The Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction (ICLR) is a world-class centre for multi-disciplinary disaster prevention research and communications. The ICLR was established by Canada’s property and casualty (p&c) insurance industry as an independent, not-for-profit research institute affiliated with the University of Western Ontario."
Natural Hazards Center
"The mission of the Natural Hazards Center at the University of Colorado at Boulder is to advance and communicate knowledge on hazards mitigation and disaster preparedness, response, and recovery."
University of Colorado/Natural Hazards Center (NHRAIC)
Includes links to a number of valuable research sources. These include the full-text of articles from newsletters and journals published by the Center, working papers, conference papers, etc. The site also provides access to the HazLit Database, an online catalog of over 22,000 items in the Center's library. Click on resources and then on Library/Hazlit.
University of Delaware/Disaster Research Center (DRC)
DRC has studied a broad range of disaster types, including hurricanes, floods, earthquakes, tornadoes, hazardous chemical incidents, plane crashes, civil disturbances, and riots. This site includes descriptions of current projects, as well as extensive bibliographies of DRC publications, including books, articles, preliminary papers, etc. Only some of the publications are available full-text online; others can be purchased through the Center. Click on E.L. Quarantelli Resource Collection.
Public Entity Risk Institute
A resource to enhance the practice of risk management throughout organizations and communities. PERI provides relevant and high quality enterprise risk management information, training, data, and data analysis. The free publications and short courses are especially useful.
Risk and Insurance Management Society (RIMS)
Provides a range of services for society members, including conference announcements, job listings, and a catalog of publications. Several articles from the last few issues of the society's magazine, Risk Management, are available online.
Extensive coverage of news on risk assessment and management with archives of news stories back to 1995. Also provides abstracts of papers from recent conferences and a collection of research reports, many of which are available online.
Society for Risk Analysis
Highlights include the table of contents of the society's journal, links to sources of specific risk-related resources (data, models, technical reports, etc.), and a glossary of risk analysis terms.
American Red Cross (Disaster Services)
Gives an overview of the work of the American Red Cross, including reports on Red Cross projects world-wide. Also includes news coverage of disasters and relief efforts.
Association of State Floodplain Managers
ASFPM is involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, the National Flood Insurance Program, and flood preparedness, warning and recovery. Site includes information on conferences, publications, grants and fellowships, job listings, and links to related web sites.
Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI)
Provides information on meetings sponsored by EERI as well as updates on seismic legislation. A catalog of EERI publications is available, but only a few select articles and reports are available full-text online.
This site provides online access to the popular "Disaster Time Line," "Terrorism Time Line," and "Homeland Security Time Line" created by Claire Rubin & Associates.