Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Search for Articles: Finding Articles

This guide will help you learn how to find peer-reviewed articles using the library's databases.

General Databases

Finding Articles

Use the library's databases to access articles.

A database is like a library that only contains scholarly journals.

Some databases cover specific topics other databases are more general.

  • To find a database that is specific to your field, click here
  • EbscoHost and ProQuest are great general databases that cover multiple topics.

Searching Tips

Searching Tips #1-  Search Fields


To make your search more narrow and specific, choose AB or ABSTRACT from the pull-down menu. An abstract is a summary of the article.

All Text is the default choice; the All Text option will search for your search term anywhere in the paper. Choosing All Text will make your search broader but less focused.

 

 

Searching Tips #2- Quotation Marks


To search for a phrase, use quotation marks. Using quotation marks around a phrase makes the database look for the words together.

Examples:

  • “Abstract Expressionism”
  • “French Revolution”
  •  “health care”
  • "small groups"

Searching Tips #3- Identify Search Terms


When searching for articles, you will want to identify multiple search terms.

For example, if I were searching for information about brownies I would also use the terms dessert, pastries, treats, snacks, etc.

Thinking of different words or synonyms will help you get a better search result.

 

Searching Tips #4- Truncation *


To continue with the brownie example, I might be interested in searching for brownies and a brownie.

Using a truncation (*) would allow me to search for brownies and a brownie at the same time.

Adding an asterisk (*) after a word stem let's you search for all words that begin with that stem.

For example, searching teach* would cover teacher, teachers, teaches, and teaching.

Ask a Librarian

Sorry, we're offline. Please email us at library@mcny.edu