Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics from Private Organizations
Population Reference Bureau
This private foundation's international programs compile statistics on population, health, and the environment worldwide.
Duke NGO Database
Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) study and publish information and engage in advocacy to bring about change. Many of them compile statistics on a wide range of topics including women’s rights, the environment, human rights, economic development, and health care. This database allows you to identify organizations engaged in a specific topical area and will connect you to the organizations' websites so you can look for subject-specific statistical data.
This organization seeks "to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society." Publishes an annual Global Corruption Report and provides data and rankings on corruption, bribes, the rule of law, freedom of the press, judicial independence, etc.
Statistics from International Organizations
EUROSTAT, the official statistical office of the European Union, offers statistical data on a wide variety of topics.
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations offers data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries through this website.
Global Health Observatory
This product from the World Health Organization provides access to health statistics on disease, life expectancy, health systems, risk factors, health equity, road safety, and other topics.
The International Labour Organization maintains this database that allows you to search for country-specific data on strikes, labor migration, wages, unemployment, and a variety of other labor statistics.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides statistics on such topics as aid, income, education, GDP, interest rates, and retirement for countries around the world.
Provides access to more than 1.75 billion International Merchandise Trade Statistics records starting from 1962.
This site provides a single entry point for all UN generated data. It allows users to browse or search using keywords.
UNECE Statistical Database
The website of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) offers statistics on forestry, gender, transportation, migration, and more.
UNICEF tracks statistics that measure the situation of children and women in coutries around the world. UNICEF is the primary agency responsible for the global monitoring of child-related Millennium Development Goals.
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees Statistics
Includes statistical reports on "refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people. Detailed information on country of asylum, place of origin, gender, age, location and legal status of refugees is available. Indicators on the quality of refugee protection and UNHCR operations are increasingly being collected."
United Nations Population Information Network
The Population Information Network (POPIN) is a guide to population information available through various U.N. websites. The POPIN data page provides links to global and regional population statistics including population projections, demographic yearbooks, vital statistics, social indicators, urbanization, literacy, health, and more.
World Bank Open Data
Contains data on agriculture, climate change, debt, financial sectors, infrastructure, poverty, technology, and other topis dating as far back as 1960.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
This World Bank resource reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 countries and territories for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability; Political Stability and Absence of Violence; Government Effectiveness ; Regulatory Quality; Rule of Law; and Control of Corruption.
Statistics from U.S. Agencies
CIA World FactBook
"Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
Energy Production and Consumption
The U.S. Energy Information Administration provides data on "crude oil production, oil consumption, natural gas production and consumption, coal production and consumption, electricity generation and consumption, primary energy, energy intensity, CO2 emissions and imports and exports for all fuels" by country, region, and commercial group.
Foreign Agricultural Service Databases
The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Foreign Agricultural Service compiles a variety of statistics on the supply, demand, and price of world commodities. They offer databases for obtaining data on U.S. export sales; production, supply, and distribution; market access and tarriffs; and other trade data.
International Database (U.S. Census)
Offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau"s International Programs Center for Demographic and Economic Studies
International Economic Accounts
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Affairs provides "information on trade in goods and services (including the balance of payments and the balance of trade), investment income, and government and private financial flows. In addition, the accounts measure the value of U.S. international assets and liabilities and direct investment by multinational companies."
International Labor Comparisons
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics offers foreign data on employment, unemployment, wages, benefits, consumer prices, and other labor-related topics.
This tool from USAID "allows users to make custom tables based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across more than 70 countries."