Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This gateway to government information includes links to statistical data at the federal, state, and local level. Links are arranged by topic. A "Facts for You" links to statistical data based on geography. The search engine allows searching by keyword and will bring up general web sites that may contained desired data but will not produce results for individual statistical tables.
Statistics from U.S. Government Agencies
The following is a selected list of U.S. federal agency websites that compile and disseminate statistics. Subject-specific federal government statistics are also listed under the Subject-Specific Statistics tab.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Includes statistics on consumer spending, corporate profits, balance of payments, direct investment, trade, tourism, etc.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistical publications in the areas of crime, victims, the court, corrections, and law enforcement. Publications are arranged alphabetically and by subject.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Offers a vast array of national, state, county, and local labor statistics on such topics as unemployment, wages, and workplace injuries. Statistics are accessible by subject area, publication title, or through one of their data retrieval tools.
Find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Provides descriptions of the Federal datasets, information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Energy Information Administration Statistics
Provides statistical analysis of the country's energy consumption, efficiency, and supply and includes figures on electricity, coal, petroleum, natural gas, nuclear, and renewable energy sources.
Federal Court Statistics
Offers statistics on bankruptcy filings, court management, and judicial caseload.
This publication, compiled every two years by the staff of the Committee on Ways and Means of the U.S. House of Representatives, provides data on a variety of social and economic topics.
National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
Conducts surveys and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Topics include the production and supply of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in U.S. producers demographics.
National Center for Health Statistics
Compiles statistical information on disease, lifestyle, health care, insurance, and related topics.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011.
U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development
Includes data from the American Housing Survey and on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Sources for New York Statistical Data
New York City Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene
The Bureau of Vital Statistics analyzes data that it collects from hundreds of thousands of birth and death certificates issued in New York City (NYC) each year by the Bureau of Vital Records. The Office of Vital Statistics (OVS) cleans, stores, codes, analyzes and reports this data for official use.
New York State Data Center
the state’s primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of New York, its businesses and people.
NYC Business Atlas
Use this tool to explore business conditions in your neighborhood.Population and Demographic data is based on the closest census tract.
NYC Census Fact Finder
Search for census information by neighborhood, subway stop, address, intersection or census tract.
NYC Open Data
NYC Open Data makes the wealth of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use. As part of an initiative to improve the accessibility, transparency, and accountability of City government, this catalog offers access to a repository of government-produced, machine-readable data sets.
MTA Capital Program Dashboard
Map-based list of capital investment projects (improvement, mitigation, disaster recovery) by the Metropolitan Transit Authority, including dates and financial amounts.
Search For US Statistical Data
With this search box, you can search many of the resources at the same time, using the power of Google.
The U. S. Census
The Census Bureau homepage has quick links to the Population Finder, Area Profiles, and various data sets relating to People and Households, Business and Industry, and Geography.
American Community Survey
Allows you to download PUMs (Public Use Microdata). This tool is helpful for advanced users who want to create their own tabulations.
United States Historical Census Browser
Statistical data from the Decennial Censuses, 1790-1960. Data covers the United States, states (nut no territories), and selected counties. Data may be browsed and charted but cannot be manipulated or customized. This site does not include Census information about individuals.
"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web."