Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here are some useful sources for statistics on media usage and trends: also try our Web Resources and Databases pages for more statistics and analysis.
Start with these great media statistics resources:
TVB: Local Media Marketing Solutions and Industry Trends
Includes reports using Nielsen data compiled by the Television Bureau of Advertising: Network VS Local statistics, TV Cost & CPM Trends, Nielsen Cross-platform reports.
Also TV Basics: From Nielsen, compilation of data on Market Penetration Levels, Ad Spending and Revenue, Geographic Targeting, and much more.
Nielsen Company News Center
Explore Nielson data on advertising, usage, TV ratings, multimedia usage and cross-platform viewing, and trends for consumers, media producers, and advertisers.
Find Your NAICS code
Find your NAICS code by searching for a similar company, or by exploring some of these examples. NAICS codes are assigned to companies by various government agencies, but finding the NAICS for your field will help you in your research.
Statistics for Media Industries
AdvertisingAge Cable Guide 2012
Overview of cable programming and network profiles.
Ad Age: Data Center
Ad Age's database of media/advertising agency profiles, advertising spending, jobs data, and more.
British Film Institute: Film Industry Statstics and Research
Statistics for UK film industry, including the BFI Statistical Yearbook.
Box Office Mojo
Free commercial site that collects box office current and historical box offices performances, international and domestic.
The Entertainment Software Association: VideoGame Economic Impact Report
Data on sales, employment, usage and more, measuring the economic impact of the videogame industry. Also available by U.S. state.
Nielson Top Tens & Trends
Nielson's Top Tens for TV, Books, Movies, Websites, Music, Videogames, and Mobile Apps. Compiled weekly, monthly or quarterly.
Box Office numbers and DVD sales, market analysis, and an archive of box office statistics for domestic and international film.
Pew Internet Project: Latest Research
A chronological listing of the latest statistical reports from the Pew Internet and American Life Project.
Pew Internet and American Life Project: Data Tools
Explore data on internet usage, and correlate these stats with demographics, cultural trends like social media, or with other media and technologies like mobile usage, music, and broadcast media. A great, free resource for snapshots of how Americans use web technology in a wide variety of contexts.
Pew Center Project for Media and Journalism: Data Center
Includes data and graphs for various multimedia platforms including broadcast and cable news, radio, and social media. Site also includes analysis of these Pew Center funded projects.
State of the News Media
From Pew Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism.
Television Bureau of Advertising: Measurement
Data on usage and spending trends, TV cost data, Nielson reports, and more.
TV By the Numbers
A free commercial sites with an overview of TV Ratings and Network and Cable trends.
VGChartz: Video Game Sales Charts
Chart for global sales of videogames, sortable by location of sales, game platform, game producer, and game.
A statistical portal, focusing on quantitative data within media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Fully searchable, Statista also includes great infographics and charts on hundreds of topics.