Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives and Libraries
Association of African American Museums
Non-profit membership organization for black museums, cultural institutions and black museum professionals in America.
Black Archives of Mid-America
A center for learning and research into the African American experience in Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, Oklahoma and the Midwest at large
Center for Black Business History, Entrepreneurship, and Technology
Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin, this site was focuses on African American Business History
Digital Collection Celebrating the Founding of the Historically Black College
Collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives; including photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events.These images present HBCUs as cultural, social, and political institutions from the early 1800's until today.
Documenting the American South
Access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. Offers a wide array of titles for reference and research. Includes sixteen thematic collections of primary sources.
First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920
This compilation of printed texts from the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill documents From the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection. Includes the diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives of prominent individuals as well as relatively inaccessible populations: women, African Americans, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.
NYPL's Schomburg Center for Research Black Culture
A research branch of the New York Public Library, the center provides access to materials documenting black life and promotes research into the history and culture of peoples of African descent.
The African Amercian Odyssey
Digital access to rare and unique items from the Library of Congress' African-American collections.
General History and Other Recommended Sites
Critical Race Theory, Social Justice and Activism
Civil Rights Digital Library
Access a variety of educational content on the Civil Rights Movement, including a digital video archive, a virtual library as well as contextual stories, encyclopedia articles and lesson plans.
Music and Literature
Making the Wright Connection
Clearinghouse for information about Richard Wright. A project that grew out of a fifteen-month program funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities that explored Richard Wright and his influence on the American idiom.
Center for Black Music Research
A research unit of Columbia College Chicago "devoted to research, preservation, and dissemination of information about the history of black music on a global scale".