Starting Points for Research
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowAccess to McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill’s Dictionary; biographical information, science and technology news and multi-media content.
- Business Insights Essentials This link opens in a new windowBusiness periodicals and company profiles.
- Research Starters: Business This link opens in a new windowA great starting point: search here for an overview of a business topic with suggested articles and books to read for more information.
- Research Starters: Sociology This link opens in a new windowA good starting point for your research on social science topics (including human services). Start here to find out about a topic and find further articles in books in the bibliography and Recommended Reading sections.
Find Articles (Best Places to Start)
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary database containing 16,000 titles, including scholarly journals, trade magazines, popular publications, and independent reports.
- EBSCOHost This link opens in a new windowA variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo provides access to over 350 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. This is a great place to begin your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowCheck out specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in the humanities and social sciences.
- Collins DictionaryFree online authoritative dictionary and thesaurus with low-key ads.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyA free online encyclopedia of philosophy and philosophers.
Almanacs and Factbooks
- American FactfinderDemographic information about the United States from the Census Bureau.
- CIA World FactbookWorld Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Bureau of Labor: Statistical Sites on the World Wide WebLinks to national and international statistics.
- FedStatsOfficial statistical information from numerous US agencies.
Ask a Librarian
Need Help?
Writing Help
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides reference resources describing opposing sides of today's hot-button issues.
Free and Open Access Resources
- BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search EngineComprehensive tool for locating open-access books, journals, dissertations and other scholarly sources available world wide.
- Berkeley Electronic PressSearch for scholarly articles in open-access (free) digital journals.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsDirectory of Open Access journals drawing from academic, governmental, commercial and non-profit private sources.
- Hathi TrustA digital library, Hathi Trust aims to digitize and make accessible the books of major research libraries.
- Internet ArchiveYou can access textual, video, and audio material as well an archive of old websites.
- ArchiveGridIncludes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented
- LittleSisA free database of who-knows-who at the heights of business and government
Understanding Databases
- Beyond CitationBeyond Citation is a pilot research platform that gathers information about academic databases and other digital research collections to enable scholars, librarians, and research enthusiasts to get a better sense of their contents, structure and search mechanisms.