Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Starting Points for Research
Access Science This link opens in a new window
Access to McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill’s Dictionary; biographical information, science and technology news and multi-media content.
Business Insights Essentials This link opens in a new window
Business periodicals and company profiles.
Research Starters: Business This link opens in a new window
A great starting point: search here for an overview of a business topic with suggested articles and books to read for more information.
Research Starters: Sociology This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for your research on social science topics (including human services). Start here to find out about a topic and find further articles in books in the bibliography and Recommended Reading sections.
Find Articles (Best Places to Start)
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database containing 16,000 titles, including scholarly journals, trade magazines, popular publications, and independent reports.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo provides access to over 350 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. This is a great place to begin your research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Check out specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in the humanities and social sciences.
Free and Open Access Resources
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Comprehensive tool for locating open-access books, journals, dissertations and other scholarly sources available world wide.
Berkeley Electronic Press
Search for scholarly articles in open-access (free) digital journals.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of Open Access journals drawing from academic, governmental, commercial and non-profit private sources.
A digital library, Hathi Trust aims to digitize and make accessible the books of major research libraries.
You can access textual, video, and audio material as well an archive of old websites.
Includes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented
A free database of who-knows-who at the heights of business and government
Beyond Citation is a pilot research platform that gathers information about academic databases and other digital research collections to enable scholars, librarians, and research enthusiasts to get a better sense of their contents, structure and search mechanisms.