Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCNY Human Services Resources
This subject page is to help you get started with research about immigration. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
American Geriatrics Society
The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals dedicated to improving the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Our nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists.
American Federation for Aging Research
A national, non-profit organization whose mission is to support and advance healthy aging through biomedical research.
Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with a membership that helps people age 50 and over have independence, choice and control in ways that are beneficial and affordable to them and society as a whole,
American Psychological Association (APA) Divison 20
Division of the American Psychological Association dedicated to understanding the psychology of adult development and aging.
American Society on Aging
Organization devoted to improving the quality of life of older adults and their families. Membership of ASA is multidisciplinary and inclusive of professionals who are concerned with the physical, emotional, social, economic and spiritual aspects of aging.
Gero-Ed Center : National Center for Gerontological Social Work Education
The CSWE Gero-Ed Center prepares social work faculty and students to meet the demographic realities of our aging society. This website is the online resource for social work faculty, students, and practitioners who are committed to enhancing their gerontological competence.
National Council on Aging
Organization that seeks to promote gerontological competencies in baccalaureate and master’s level social work programs nationwide.
National Insitute on Aging
NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.
The Alzheimer's Association is the leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research. Our mission is to eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research; to provide and enhance care and support for all affected; and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health.
Administration for Community Living
"At ACL, we believe that the preferences and needs of older adults and people with disabilities who need assistance belong at the center of the system of services and supports that enable them to live the lives they want to live. We further believe that those needs and preferences should be defined by the individual receiving services and supports."
Articles and Databases
Here are a few databases to get you started on the topic of older adults and aging. We have many more databases available on the Databases by Subject page.
Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals and a wide variety of personal health information.
Proquest Health and Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and dissertations & trade and consumer publications related to medical science, nursing, health administration and public health.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
Work & Productivity
The Sloan Center on Aging & Work
Organization that seeks to promote employment equality for older adults
Connects today’s 55+ with the people and organizations that need them most. We help them become mentors, coaches or companions to people in need, or contribute their job skills and expertise to community projects and organizations.