Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This subject page is to help you get started with research about psychology and mental health. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Data & Statistics
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
Research shows that mental illnesses are common in the United States, affecting tens of millions of people each year. Estimates suggest that only half of people with mental illnesses receive treatment. The information on these pages includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics
Problems with mental health are very common in the United States, with an estimated 50% of all Americans diagnosed with a mental illness or disorder at some point in their lifetime. Mental illnesses, such as depression, are the third most common cause of hospitalization in the United States for those aged 18-44 years old, and adults living with serious mental illness die on average 25 years earlier than others. The reports and other products in this section can serve as resources to public health officials and other health professionals who need up-to-date statistics and data sources around mental health and mental illness. However, these lists of reports and data tools are not exhaustive.
Articles & Databases
Proquest Psychology Journals
Journal articles and dissertations focusing on the field of psychology; topics include clinical and social psychology, as well as related topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare.
The exclusive source for 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and its allied organizations , with some articles dating to 1894.
Database of approximately 32,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. Includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology collection.
"PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines...The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters."
Access to 200 full-text periodicals relating to psychology.
National Suicide Hotline
The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline provides free and confidential emotional support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, across the United States. The Lifeline is comprised of a national network of over 150 local crisis centers, combining custom local care and resources with national standards and best practices.
American Counseling Association
Not-for-profit, professional and educational organization "dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession."
Provides access to a variety of resources and topics related to mental health. Readers can post questions and search for mental health professionals in their area
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
The Mental Health division of the National Institute of Health (NIH), the federal agency devoted to biomedical and behavioral research. NIMH focuses on research related to mental illnesses
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
"The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities."
World Health Organization: Mental Health
Good mental health is related to mental and psychological well-being. WHO’s work to improve the mental health of individuals and society at large includes the promotion of mental well-being, the prevention of mental disorders, the protection of human rights and the care of people affected by mental disorders.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention: Mental Heatlh
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is dedicated to helping all people live healthier lives. We focus on preventing or reducing the impact of mental illness as a critical part of overall wellness, using the same approach that we use to prevent other health conditions such as heart disease or influenza, including early identification and intervention for those at risk, and providing science-based strategies to reduce the risk. CDC works in collaboration with federal and other partners to bridge the gap between research and delivery.
New York Office of Mental Health
New York State has a large, multi-faceted mental health system that serves more than 700,000 individuals each year. The Office of Mental Health (OMH) operates psychiatric centers across the State, and also regulates, certifies and oversees more than 4,500 programs, which are operated by local governments and nonprofit agencies. These programs include various inpatient and outpatient programs, emergency, community support, residential and family care programs.
Mental Health First Aid Trainings
Mental Health First Aid trainings provide proven practices that will help you recognize the early signs and symptoms of mental illness and substance misuse. You will learn how to listen without judgement, and respond to and help someone in distress until they can get the professional care they may need.
The free eight-hour training is available for all New Yorkers as part of the City’s ThriveNYC Initiative.
Mental Health Association in New York State
MHANYS is a not-for-profit organization that works to end the stigma against mental illness and promotes mental health wellness in New York State. MHANYS achieves this through training, education, advocacy and policy, community-based partnership programming, and by connecting individuals and families to help.
Classics in the History of Psychology
Full text for a number of historically significant documents from the history of psychology and allied disciplines.
American Psychological Association
The largest professional organization in America representing the field of psychology.
Contains links to a variety of topics, including disorders, self-help quizzes, a medication library, a directory of online resources, and book reviews.
A collection of scholarly web resources
Current Topics in Psychology
Created by clinical psychologist Michael Fenichel, links to general reference and topic-specific articles, Web sites and research tools.