Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCNY Human Services Resources
This subject page is to help you get started with research about LGBTQI resources. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Credo Topic Page
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
Sylvia Rivera & Marsha P. Johnson
Articles and Databases
Here are a few databases to get you started on the topic of LGBTQI issues. We have many more databases available on the Databases by Subject page.
Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
History, Culture, Theory: Websites
Act Up: Oral History
Collection of interviews, in transcript form and streaming video, with surviving members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power.
GBLT Historical Society
One of the largest collections of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender historical materials. The society's GLBT History Museum is the first full-scale, stand-alone museum of its kind in the United States.
An encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer culture.
ONE | National Gay & Lesbian Archives
Website for the largest research library on GLBT history and issues.
A hub for online resources pertaining to queer culture, theory and history, gender studies and related disciplines.
LGBT Religious Archives Network
In-depth interviews with a diverse group of early LGBT religious leaders. By selecting a person you can listen to that interview, read the transcript, view photographs and peruse biographical notes.
Normal Life by
Call Number: KF4754.5 .S63 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-07
Spade explodes assumptions about what
This book is a must for anyone who is interested in social justice, period. Spade is focused particularly on the Trans population but his critique exposes critical questions about what legal rights can do for marginalized populations, and describes transformative resistance processes and formations that address the root causes of harm and state violence.
Law, Politcs, and Rights
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
Dedicated to human rights advocacy on behalf of people who face discrimination or abuse on the basis of their actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender identity or expression. The site includes the organization's publications and information on various countries.
National legal organization whose mission is to "safeguard and advance the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV."
National Center for Transgender Equity
National advocacy center for transgender rights.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Frouce
Civil rights organization seeking to build political power "from the ground up."
Sylvia Rivera Project
Non profit NYC based law collective that seeks to increase the political voice of low-income people and people of color who are transgender, intersex, or gender non-conforming. SRLP works to improve access to respectful and affirming social, health, and legal services.
Transgender Law and Policy Institute
Non-profit organization dedicated to advocacy for transgender people, "brings experts and advocates
together to work on law and policy initiatives designed to advance transgender equality."
Based at UCLA, the institute focuses on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy through research and scholarship.
Trans Student Education
Trans Student Educational Resources is a youth-led organization dedicated to transforming the educational environment for trans and gender nonconforming students through advocacy and empowerment. In addition to our focus on creating a more trans-friendly education system, our mission is to educate the public and teach trans activists how to be effective organizers.