Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCNY Human Services Resources
This subject page is to help you get started with research about homelessness. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Credo Topic Page
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
A collaboration between the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)—is intended to provide users with access to national, state, and local information about homelessness among the general population, homelessness among Veterans, risk and protective factors for homelessness, services and resources.
Articles and Databases
Here are a few databases to get you started on the topic of homelessness. We have many more databases available on the Databases by Subject page.
Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Homelessness and Specific Groups
The Value of Homelessness by
Call Number: HV4505 .W54 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Through a history of U.S. housing insecurity from the 1930s to the present, Craig Willse traces the emergence and consolidation of a homeless services industry. How to most efficiently allocate resources to control ongoing insecurity has become the goal, he shows, rather than how to eradicate the social, economic, and political bases of housing needs
The Unequal Homeless by
Call Number: HV4506 .N6 P37 1996
Publication Date: 1996-10-02
By our College President! Joanne Passaro.
This book explores the persistence, as opposed to the occurrence, of homelessness. It focuses on how cultural expressions of beliefs about gender difference help to perpetuate the homelessness of particular groups of people in New York City
Government Support Groups
"The HUD Exchange is an online platform for providing program information, guidance, services, and tools to HUD's community partners, including state and local governments, nonprofit organizations, Continuums of Care (CoCs), Public Housing Authorities (PHAs), tribes, and partners of these organizations."
U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness
"The U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness leads the national effort to prevent and end homelessness in America. We drive action among our 19 federal member agencies and foster partnerships at every level of government and with the private sector."
U.S. Department of Labor
Information about homelessness and homeless populations is spread throughout the Department of Labor's website.
National Support Groups
The National Alliance to End Homelessness
"The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a nonpartisan organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States. We use research and data to find solutions to homelessness; we work with federal and local partners to create a solid base of policy and resources that support those solutions; and then we help communities implement them."
National Health Care for the Homeless Council
"The National Health Care for the Homeless Council is a network of more than 10,000 doctors, nurses, social workers, patients, and advocates who share the mission to eliminate homelessness."
National Law Center on Homelessness & Poverty
"The National Law Center on Homelessness & Poverty is the only national legal group dedicated to ending and preventing homelessness. We believe that the right to a home and food and the rights of children to go to school lie at the heart of human dignity and we envision a world where no one has to go without the basics of human survival."
The National Coalition for the Homeless
"The National Coalition for the Homeless is a national network of people who are currently experiencing or who have experienced homelessness, activists and advocates, community-based and faith-based service providers, and others committed to a single mission: To prevent and end homelessness while ensuring the immediate needs of those experiencing homelessness are met and their civil rights protected."