Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCNY Human Services Resources
This subject page is to help you get started with research about domestic violence. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Credo Topic Page
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
MCNY Catalog Search
Family Violence Catalog Search
This link will search the MCNY catalog for the subject heading "family violence."
From here you can use other keywords to find more specific information about your topic.
New York Based Resources
Mayor's Office to End Domestic and Gender-Based Violence
The Mayor's Office to End Domestic and Gender-Based Violence (ENDGBV) develops policies and programs, provides training and prevention education, conducts research and evaluations, performs community outreach, and operates the New York City Family Justice Centers. We collaborate with City agencies and community stakeholders to ensure access to inclusive services for survivors of domestic and gender-based violence (GBV). GBV can include intimate partner and family violence, elder abuse, sexual assault, stalking, and human trafficking.
NYC Resource List for Victims of Domestic Violence
List of local resources provided by the Mayor's office.
Articles and Databases
Here are a few databases to get you started on the topic of child welfare. We have many more databases available on the Databases by Subject page.
Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals and a wide variety of personal health information.
Department of Justice: OVW
"The mission of the Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), a component of the U.S. Department of Justice, is to provide federal leadership in developing the national capacity to reduce violence against women and administer justice for and strengthen services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking."
Domestic Abuse Project
DAP publishes the Journal of Intimate Partner Violence Intervention and links relevant information, definitions of violence and first-hand accounts of survivors.
Elder Abuse (National Institute of Justice)
This site provides background information, publications, and web resources on elder abuse.
Futures without Violence
Provides resources covering legislative, public education and international aspects of domestic violence
Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community
Interdisciplinary organization seeking to prevent and reduce family violence in the African American community. Website includes extensive bibliographies and pages of links.
Institute on Violence, Abuse and Trauma
The institute is responsible for several academic journals and lists several valuable resources.
Intimate Partner Violence (CDC)
From the CDC: There is a lot to learn about how to prevent Intimate Partner Violence (IPV). We do know that strategies that promote healthy behaviors in relationships are important. Programs that teach young people skills for dating can prevent violence. These programs can stop violence in dating relationships before it occurs.
National Coalition Against Domestic Violence
The vision of NCADV is to create a culture where domestic violence is not tolerated; and where society empowers victims and survivors, and holds abusers accountable.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Provides help for individuals by linking them to local resources including emergency shelters, legal advocacy and social service programs
RAINN (Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network)
"RAINN (Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network) is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization "
Violence Against Women Online Resources
This site provides extensive library of advocacy, legal and scholarly documents.
Center for Urban Justice Domestic Violence Project
Holistic civil legal and clinical services to victims of domestic violence. Serves all victims, regardless of their gender, sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, religion, disability, socioeconomic status, immigration status, age or otherwise. DVP applies a human rights framework to understanding domestic violence.