Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCNY Human Services Resources
This subject page is to help you get started with research about criminal justice. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Credo Topic Pages
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
Data & Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistical publications in the areas of crime, victims, the court, corrections, and law enforcement. Publications are arranged alphabetically and by subject.
Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics
The FBI has gathered crime statistics from law enforcement agencies across the nation that have voluntarily participated in the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program since 1930. The UCR Program collects statistics on violent crime (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and property crime (burglary, larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft). By congressional mandate, arson was added as the eighth Part I offense in 1979.
Federal Justice Statistics Program
The Federal Justice Statistics Program (FJSP) provides comprehensive and detailed information about the federal justice system's processing of criminal cases. It includes annual data on the workload, activities, and outcomes associated with federal criminal cases.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Tries to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources;
New York State Criminal Justice Statistics
Statistics on crime, arrests, dispositions, juvenile justice, and prison populations in New York as well as reports published by the state government.
Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program
The UCR Program's primary objective is to generate reliable information for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management. Today, four annual publications are produced from data received from more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse
The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people — and institutions of oversight such as Congress, news organizations, public interest groups, businesses, scholars and lawyers — with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government.
New York State Uniform Crime Reports
The Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is authorized by statute to serve as the central repository of crime and arrest information for New York State. DCJS oversees the UCR Program for the State and reports crime and arrest data to the FBI. New York State law enforcement agencies submit monthly crime reports to DCJS. These crime reports are reviewed by DCJS personnel for completeness and accuracy before being added to the statewide database and submitted to the FBI.
Resources for Research
Critical Criminology Information and Resources
A site devoted to critical analyses of the criminal justice system, includes links for a wide range of legal topics.
Legal Information Institute
A not-for-profit group that devoted to helping people to better access and understand the law and legal writing publishes a free online law journal and explores technologies that make it easier for people to access legal material.
Free legal dictionary and encyclopedia maintained by Cornell
Legal Defence & Advocacy Websites
Legal Aid Society
Private, not-for-profit legal services organization, the oldest and largest in the nation. Provides quality legal representation to low-income New Yorkers.
New York State Assosciation of Criminal Defence Lawyers
From the website, "dedicated to protecting the rights of criminal defendants through a strong, unified, and well-trained criminal defense bar."
Center for Community Alternitives (CCA)
Non-profit focused on community-based alternatives to incarceration. It's mission, according to the website is to "promote reintegrative justice and a reduced reliance on incarceration through advocacy, services and public policy development."
Legal Action Center
Advocates for "smarter, more effective criminal justice policies, including sentencing reform and expansion of alternatives to incarceration (ATI) and related programs, probation, and alcohol and drug treatment and prevention."
Urban Justice Center
Advocates through a combination of direct legal service, systemic advocacy, community education and political organizing.
The Osborne Association
Offers opportunities for individuals who have been in conflict with the law through replicable programs that reduce crime and its human and economic costs.
Central Intellegence Agency (CIA)
US Government agency responsible for providing national security intelligence to senior US policymakers.
Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS)
COPS is the office of the U.S. Department of Justice that advances the practice of community policing in America’s state, local and tribal law enforcement agencies.
Federal Bureau of Investigation
From the Website: "What we Investigate: Spies. Terrorists. Hackers. Pedophiles. Mobsters. Gang leaders and serial killers. We investigate them all, and many more besides."
Federal Bureau of Prisons
An agency of the U.S. Department of Justice, the Bureau of Prisons website includes inmate and facilities locators among many other tools
New York Police Department
Official website of the NYPD
New York State Criminial Justice Division
New York States' "criminal justice support agency." Responsibilities include, according to the website, "collection and analysis of statewide crime data; operation of the DNA databank and criminal fingerprint files; administration of federal and state criminal justice funds; support of criminal justice-related agencies across the state; and administration of the state’s Sex Offender Registry."
City of New York Department of Correction
The department charged with overseeing jails and prisons in New York City.
Prisons: Advocacy, Research, and Alternatives
Seeks to build an international movement to end the "prison industrial complex" (PIC)
Legal Services for Prisoners With Children
Organizes communities impacted by the criminal justice system and advocates to release incarcerated people, seeks to "build public awareness of structural racism in policing, the courts and prison system and we advance racial and gender justice in all our work." Strategies include legal support, trainings, advocacy, public education, grassroots mobilization and developing community partnerships
Prison Activist Resource Center
PARC is a prison abolitionist group committed to exposing and challenging all forms of institutionalized racism, sexism, able-ism, heterosexism, and classism, specifically within the Prison Industrial Complex (PIC).
ACLU: Prisoners' Project
The ACLU National Prison Project is dedicated to ensuring that our nation’s prisons, jails, and other places of detention comply with the Constitution, domestic law, and international human rights principles, and to ending the policies that have given the United States the highest incarceration rate in the world.