Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This subject page is to help you get started with research about children's services. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Annie E. Kasey Foundation
Private philanthropy, makes grants to responed to issues that negatively affect children: poverty, unnecessary disconnection from family and communities with limited access to opportunity.
The Children's Defense Fund
A non-profit child advocacy organization. Works to "champion policies and programs that lift children out of poverty; protect them from abuse and neglect; and ensure their access to health care, quality education and a moral and spiritual foundation." Supported by foundation and corporate grants and individual donations.
The Child Welfare League of America
Oldest and largest organization devoted entirely to the well-being of America's vulnerable children and their families.
The Institute for Children, Poverty, and Homelessness (ICPH)
"The Institute for Children, Poverty, and Homelessness (ICPH) is a New York City-based policy research organization focused on family homelessness in New York City and throughout the United States."
Legal Services for Prisoners With Children
Organizes communities impacted by the criminal justice system and advocates to release incarcerated people, seeks to "build public awareness of structural racism in policing, the courts and prison system and we advance racial and gender justice in all our work." Strategies include legal support, trainings, advocacy, public education, grassroots mobilization and developing community partnerships
National Center for Youth Law
A private, non-profit law office serving the legal needs of children and their families.
National Children’s Advocacy Center
Non-profit organization providing training, prevention, intervention and treatment services to fight child abuse and neglect.
The New York State Child Advocacy Resource and Consultation Center
Works with Child Advocacy Centers throughout New York State to promote and enhance multidisciplinary responses to child sexual abuse, severe physical abuse, and child fatality.
NYU Child Study Center The New York University Child Study Center (CSC)
NYU Research Center that works to improve the treatment of child psychiatric disorders by eliminating the stigma, conducting research and influencing child-related public policy
Articles and Databases
Here are a few databases to get you started on the topic of child welfare. We have many more databases available on the Databases by Subject page.
Proquest Social Science Databases
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Credo Topic Pages
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
Administration for Children and Families
The Administration for Children and Families (ACF), within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities.
Find Youth Info
This federal Web site provides interactive tools and other resources to help youth-serving organizations and community partnerships plan, implement, and participate in effective programs for youth.
New York Administration for Children’s Services
City agency charged with protecting New York's children from abuse and neglect. Along with community partners, provides neighborhood-based services to help ensure children "grow up in safe, permanent homes with strong families."
NYC Department of Youth and Community
City organization devoted to youth and family programming. DYCD's central task is administering available City, state, and federal funds to effective community-based organizations.