Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open or zero cost textbooks are free, online textbooks created with a Creative Commons license, ready for download and use. A search in the collections below may retrieve some of the same books, but each collection will also offer items not found in the others.
Open Textbook Library
Coordinated through the University of Minnesota, the site offers peer-reviewed, open textbooks in a range of academic disciplines including accounting, business, journalism, humanities, natural sciences, and social sciences.
From Rice University, the site offers a variety of open textbooks in science, math, and the humanities; valuable for first and second year courses.
SUNY Open Textbooks
A repository of openly-licensed textbooks created at SUNY.
Directory of Open Access Books
Offers access to a range of open access books made available by academic publishers.
MIT Open Textbooks
Open textbooks hosted by MIT and searchable by department; focus is on computer systems and applied math and sciences.
BCCampus Open Textbooks
BC campus, a publicly funded organization in British Columbia, provides post-secondary open textbooks for first-and second-year courses in a wide range of academic subjects.
OER Learning Materials & Courses
Oer repositories offer not only open textbooks, but also other OERs including open courses and crated teaching and learning materials.
Search high-quality learning material (syllabi, lectures, modules, textbook) from primary school to graduate program levels.
SUNY OER Repository
Suny-produced OER teaching materials and open courses.
Merlot was created to develop evaluation standards and peer review processes for on-line teaching-learning materials by an informal consortium of The University of Georgia System, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, University of North Carolina System, and the California State University System.
MIT Open Courseware Educator Portal
"A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content." You can also search for syllabi, videos, exams, and download readings.
OER in CUNY Academic Works
The institutional repository holds many openly-licensed syllabi, textbooks, and other course content created by CUNY faculty.
"Welcome to our collection of open educational resources (OER) from University of Michigan. Access a range of course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more."
"Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more."
Access to a range of open courses developed and hosted by Lumen Learning, including teaching materials.
Open Course Library
A collection of shareable courses, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments
OER Search Engines
George Mason Metafinder
Search across multiple OER repositories at once.
"A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 75 different sources and contains 176,005 records." Created by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OERs by Academic Disciplines