Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Activism & Community Engagement
Community Action for Safe Apartments (CASA)
Community Action for Safe Apartments (CASA) is a membership driven tenant organizing project of New Settlement Apartments’ that works primarily in the Southwest Bronx. Our mission is to protect and maintain affordable and safe housing through collective action.
Metropolitan Council on Housing
The Metropolitan Council on Housing is a tenants' rights membership organization made up of New York City tenants who believe in our motto of "housing for people, not profit." We formed over 50 years ago to fight for a city where everyone has access to safe, decent, affordable housing. To these ends, we organize tenants to stand up not only for their individual rights, but also for changes to our housing policies.
SoBRO is just down the street from us! And MCNY maintains a special relationship with them. Their "mission is to enhance the quality of life in the South Bronx by strengthening businesses and creating innovative economic, housing, educational, and career development programs for youth and adults."
Help Build the Guide!
Do you know of an community organization doing good work in the South Bronx that should be included in this guide?
What about about a historical site or community resource? Anything at all! This guide is ours to build together. Email: email@example.com (Must be a MCNY Community Member)
Libraries, Museums & Archives
Bronx Community College
"Collects, preserves, and makes available primary and secondary materials that document the history of Bronx Community College."
Bronx Historical Society
"Dedicated to the collection, preservation, documentation and interpretation of the history of The Bronx and lower Westchester County"
Bronx Historic Preservation Project
Suggested Sites For Landmark Consideration 2008
The Bronx Library Center
The Bronx Library Center is the largest public library in the Bronx, with extensive collections of print and non-print materials for adults, young adults, and children. It features New York Public Library’s premiere Latino and Puerto Rican Heritage Collection.
The Bronx Museum of The Arts
The museum focuses on contemporary and 20th-century works created by American artists, and has has hosted exhibitions of art and design from Latin America, Africa, and Asia. The Museum's permanent collection consists of more than 800 paintings, sculptures, photographs, and works on paper. The museum is part of the Grand Concourse Historic District.
City Island Museum
"Through this on-line collection, the Museum offers a sampling of the images of boats and historic views that are part of its archives, as well as graduation photographs from City Island schools and pictures of City Island life past and present."
Hostos College Archives
"Through its collections the archives promotes an awareness of the diverse ethnic and cultural history of this unique bilingual institution and the surrounding South Bronx community that inspired it.The library’s archive unit also maintains a comprehensive collection of works published by and about Eugenio María de Hostos, namesake of the college."
Community & City Council District Information
Find your NYC Council Member
NYC Council Members:
Introduce and vote on legislation (proposed laws) having to do with all aspects of City life.
Negotiate the City’s budget with the Mayor and approve its adoption.
Monitor City agencies such as the Department of Education and the NYPD to make sure they’re effectively serving New Yorkers.
Review land use and make decisions about the growth and development of our city.
Look Up Your Community Board
The community boards of the New York City government are the appointed advisory groups of the community districts of the five boroughs.
Director of Library Services