Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding out information about a hospital can be tricky. Information about finance and internal governance may not be publicly available. Or, a hospital may disclose this kind of information and service details, but not with the specificity that you are looking for. This guide, it is hoped, will get you started on your research. But chat with a librarian too! We are here to help.
Health Business Elite
Journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance.
Proquest Health Management
High quality journals, dissertations, and theses, covering multiple topics within the growing field of health administration.
Company Profiles & Industry Research
Business Source Complete
Full text peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Well researched, accurate and current business information; analysis of economic, demographic and government data about America’s 700+ industries.
Hospital Information: Directories and Databases
American Hospital Directory
The public has free but limited access to this database of hospital information. Create a list or a map of hospitals that match your interests. View free hospital profiles that include key characteristics, services provided, utilization statistics, accreditation status, financial information, and more. No registration is required.
Charities Bureau Registry
Use this database to search for fiscal information about a specific hospital. The database includes organizations registered with the Office of the Attorney General. This will not include, public, religious or private hospitals but rather those that are registered with not-for-profit 503-C status.
Hospitals in New York State
Forms, reports and web links about hospitals in New York State from the NYS Department of Health.
NYC.gov Public Hospitals
Brief descriptions of and links to City Hospitals.
NYS Hospital Profiles
From the website: "[U]se this site to find information about hospitals in New York State, and the quality of care they provide. Please be mindful that while we believe the quality measures presented here are among the most reliable, measuring quality is difficult because of the variation among hospitals in the complexity of patients that they treat. "
Dreadnought Seaman's Hospital, Greenwich, South London (1954)