Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Labor Movements: Government Documents and Statistics

*Adopted from the Tamiment Library (NYU) Guide to Labor History, by Kate Donovan

Online Sources

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Internet Archive
Several volumes of the Bulletin of Labor are available in the Internet Archive along with other publications of the U.S. Bureau of Labor and the Women's Bureau of the United States.  Search by Author (e.g., "United States Department of Labor" or "Women's Bureau") to see available titles.

Government Agencies

Federal Labor Relations Authority
The FLRA is an independent agency responsible for administering the labor-management relations program for 1.9 million Federal employees world-wide. 

U.S. Department of Labor
Find current and historical information on labor laws, wages, and benefits, including statistics and reports. Includes links to state labor departments and other agencies. 

Factory Investigating Commission Reports online

Labor Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes statistical and economic information on the United States, searchable by keyword. Also includes links to many other sources of statistical information, both foreign and domestic, in the BLS information section.

New York State Department of Labor – Labor Statistics
Find labor market information for New York State, including wages, projections,and the latest job figures.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, the Statistical Abstract is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Union Membership and Coverage Database
The Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the Current Population Survey (CPS), a monthly household survey, using BLS methods. Economy-wide estimates are provided beginning in 1973; estimates by state, detailed industry, and detailed occupation begin in 1983; and estimates by metropolitan area begin in 1986. The Database, constructed by Barry Hirsch (Georgia State University) and David Macpherson (Florida State University), is updated annually.

Union Membership Information from the BLS
See the Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

U.S. Census: Employment
The U.S. Census Bureau collects data that measure the state of the nation's workforce, including employment and unemployment levels, as well as weeks and hours worked

 


Statistical Information