Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical Research Resources
1911 Triangle Factory Fire
Includes original sources on the fire held at the Cornell's Kheel Center, an archive of historical material on labor and industrial relations.
Documenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture
Devoted to creating a "significant, fully searchable online database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century - the first large-scale repository of its kind. Historical Voices will both provide storage for these digital holdings and display public galleries that cover a variety of interests and topics."
In the First Person
Free in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives from around the world
New York State Digitial Collections
Gateway to a variety of rich primary source materials held by the State Archives, State Library, and State Museum. Access photographs, textual materials, artifacts, government documents, manuscripts, and other materials.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Smithsonian Collection Search Center
Search over 8.2 million catalog records of museum objects, online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.
Access radio programs and interviews by Studs Turkel. A pioneer of oral history, his work covers topics of Race, the Great Depression, Work, World War II and more.
recording, preserving, and distributing through various media, the wisdom of extraordinary African American elders - Visionaries - who have shaped American history. Activities include, oral history recording projects, community outreach, educational and intergenerational events.