Skip to Main Content

Affordable Health Care Act: Introduction

Adopted from a guide by Nancy Glassman at D. Samuel Gottesman Library at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.


Daily Health Policy Report from the Kaiser Family Foundation

Healthcare reform updates and information from Kaiser Health News.

Loading ...

What is the Affordable Care Act?

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act was passed by Congress and signed into law on March 23, 2010. The provisions of the ACA are being phased in over four years.  Open enrollment in the Health Insurance Exchange Marketplace begins on October 1, 2013.

The Affordable Care Act has 10 Titles:

  • Title I. Quality, Affordable Health Care for All Americans
  • Title II. The Role of Public Programs
  • Title III. Improving the Quality and Efficiency of Health Care
  • Title IV. Prevention of Chronic Disease and Improving Public Health
  • Title V. Health Care Workforce
  • Title VI. Transparency and Program Integrity
  • Title VII. Improving Access to Innovative Medical Therapies
  • Title VIII. Community Living Assistance Services and Supports Act (CLASS Act)
  • Title IX. Revenue Provisions
  • Title X. Reauthorization of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act

Private Organizations on ACA