Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This subject page is to help you get started with research about HIV/AIDS. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Credo Topic Pages
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
MCNY Catalog Search
This is just one of the many keywords you can use to search for information about HIV/AIDS. Try some of the keywords suggested in the "Suggested Keywords" box below.
Articles & Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals and a wide variety of personal health information.
Proquest Health and Medicine Databases This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and dissertations & trade and consumer publications related to medical science, nursing, health administration and public health.
Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
HIV/AIDS Advocacy & Health Organizations
The New York Chapter of this national organization known for utilizing civil disobedience tactics.
International HIV and AIDS charity that provides current and historical HIV/AIDS information. Includes comprehensive statistics, regional and ethic/social HIV/AIDS information, and fund raising opportunities.
The Center of Excellence for Transgender HIV Prevention
Funded by the California Department of Public Health. Provides information on research and resources for HIV/AIDS prevention in the transgender community.
Gay Men's Health Crisis
A provider of HIV/AIDS prevention, care and advocacy; the site features an AIDS library containing links to various AIDS related resources.
God's Love We Deliver
Prepares and delivers meals to people who, because of their illness, are unable to provide or prepare meals for themselves. Provide illness-specific nutrition education and counseling to clients, families, care providers and other service organization
Kaiser State Health Facts
Provides statistical information on HIV/AIDS by state. Includes information on demographics, health care coverage, health care costs, minority health, and women's health.
NASW HIV/AIDS Spectrum
Provides HIV and mental health practice skills for people working in social work, mental health, and substance abuse fields to enhance and promote culturally competent practice with individuals, families, and communities affected by HIV/AIDS.
Net of Care
This site contains a searchable database of services offered in New York City and a list of national resources for dealing with the stresses of family caregiving.
The joint United Nations program "united the world against AIDS." Brings together the resources from ten United Nations organizations to prevent future HIV infections, provide assistance for those living with HIV/AIDS, and provide treatment options for individuals across the globe. Provides country-specific HIV/AIDS information and publications
World Health Organization
Provides leadership on global health matters. Includes statistical and basic information on HIV/AIDS, as well as information on health care access across the globe.
General Information Websites
Official government site managed by the DHHS. Contains information on testing, prevention, education, research, demographics, and other agencies and programs that deal with HIV/AIDS. Links to podcasts about HIV/AIDS.
A service project developed by the United States Department of Health of Human Services that offers current information on HIV/AIDS research, treatment, and prevention with federal approval. Includes clinical trials, medical guidelines, and drug reference guides.
Centers for Disease Control
Public health agency of the United States that provides a wealth of information on disease prevention and treatment. Provides factual and statistical information on HIV/AIDS as well as treatment options and a look at HIV/AIDS in a global context. Also includes comprehensive resources for further reference.
U.S.-based AIDS and human rights activists, people living with HIV/AIDS, public health experts, fair trade advocates and concerned individuals dedicated to eliminating barriers to global access to affordable medicines for people living with HIV/AIDS.
"Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco." Includes profiles and tables on various drugs, clinical trials, and countries.
National Institutes of Health
Another agency associated with the United States Department of Health and Human Services. Provides information on medical research and basic profiles of HIV and AIDS.
Site offered by the Body Health Resources Corporation. Includes interactive AIDS/HIV information, including chat rooms, reference services, an online library, and links to other resources