Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MCNY Human Services Resources
This subject page is to help you get started with research about immigration. It is not a comprehensive guide, but a starter guide. For more comprehensive research in the broad category of Human Services, use the Human Services research guide.
Credo Topic Page
Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.
We suggest the following topic pages:
Articles and Databases
Here are a few databases to get you started on the topic of immigration. We have many more databases available on the Databases by Subject page.
Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new window
Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
A variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
Immagrants on Ellis Island
ACLU - Immigrants Rights Project
The ACLU protects the rights and liberties of immigrants.
A bi-national, nonprofit educational organization at the U.S./Mexico border dedicated to raising awareness and inspiring action around global political economics. Its programs focus on cross-border relationship building opportunities, issues of immigration, community formation and development, and social justice in the borderlands between Mexico, the U.S., and beyond.
Center for Immigration Studies
Independent, non-partisan immigration studies think tank
Ellis Island Immigration Museum
Ellis Island Foundation web site; history of immigration
Immigrant Defense Project
The Immigrant Defense Project (IDP), formerly an initiative of the New York State Defenders Association, defends the legal, constitutional and human rights of immigrants facing criminal or deportation charges.
Immigrant Legal Resource Center
National non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights.
Make the Road New York: Immigration
Provides a full range of services to 17,000 people each year, including legal representation in immigration, housing, and worker exploitation cases.
National Immigrant Justice Center (NIJC)
Provides direct legal services to and advocates for these populations through policy reform, impact litigation, and public education.
National Immigration Law Center (NILC)
Dedicated to defending and advancing the rights of low-income immigrants and their family members.