Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Case Law Resources
U.S. Supreme Court
Official website, with dockets, opinions, court rules, transcripts, briefs, and oral arguments.
The Supreme Court Database
Currently includes cases and analysis for Supreme Court cases beginning with 1953. It recently received a grant from the NSF, and will eventually include all Supreme Court cases back to 1792.
Official website for federal judiciary, includes links to all federal courts of appeals and district courts.
New York Unified Court System
Official website, includes links to the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division, Supreme Court, Family Court, Surrogate's Court, and others. Includes E-Courts system, which allows case tracking.
New York Official Reports Decisions
Published decisions of the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division, and lower courts.
The New York Court of Appeals Public Access and Search System provides free access to Court of Appeals materials for cases pending on or filed after January 1, 2013.
Law Library of Congress Guide to Law Online includes links to court websites.
Access to all Supreme Court cases, Courts of Appeals cases beginning with 1950, district court cases beginning with 2004, some state case law. Allows browsing by type of lawsuit.
Casetext combines state-of-the-art search capability with a free legal research platform. Casetext’s platform is unique in enabling users to add personalized meta-data to documents and then use this data to filter and refine subsequent searches. Casetext enables sophisticated queries including term proximity and keyword boosting.
Includes some judges’ opinions for these courts: Ala. N. Bankr.; Alaska D.; Calif. N. Bankr.; Calif. N.D.; Conn. D.; Haw. D.; Idaho D.; Ill. N.D.; Iowa S.D.; Minn. D.; Mo. E.D.; Mo. W. Bankr.; Ohio N.D.; Pa. M.D.; P.R. Bankr.; Tenn. M. Bankr.; Tex. S.D.; Tex. W.D.; V.I. D.; V.I. Bankr. Utah D.; Vt. D.; Wash. E. Bankr.; Wash. E.D.; Wash. W. Bankr.
Searchable database of decisions from federal and state courts.
Google Scholar Case Law search
Links to legal opinions and law review articles.
Public Library of the Law
Searchable database of all federal cases from the Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals and state cases beginning with 1997.