LibGuides: Public Speaking and the Arts of Persuasion: Selecting a Topic

More Ideas

Idea Generator
Browse through a variety of key words and phrases; then explore the ideas and devise a more specific topic.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo provides access to over 350 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. This is a great place to begin your research.

Infotrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 150 English-Language newspapers. It covers domestic and international (mostly UK and Austrialia) news. Coverage is full-text with several search options. Previously known as Custom Newspapers.
New York State Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from newspapers from around New York State including: Glens Falls Post-Star, New York Times, New York Observer, New York Post, and Newsday.

Proquest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to a number of Newspaper databases and News sources. Many individual papers are represented including the New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Access to McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill’s Dictionary; biographical information, science and technology news and multi-media content.
Business Insights Essentials This link opens in a new window
Business periodicals and company profiles.
Research Starters: Business This link opens in a new window
A great starting point: search here for an overview of a business topic with suggested articles and books to read for more information.
Research Starters: Sociology This link opens in a new window
A good starting point for your research on social science topics (including human services). Start here to find out about a topic and find further articles in books in the bibliography and Recommended Reading sections.