General Databases
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowA large multidisciplinary database containing 16,000 titles, including scholarly journals, trade magazines, popular publications, and independent reports.
- EBSCOHost This link opens in a new windowA variety of full text databases ranging from general reference collections to subject-specific databases. Select EBSCOhost Web to search multiple databases at once.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
- SAGE Premier Journals This link opens in a new windowSAGE provides access to a wide range of journals in the Life, Social & Physical Sciences; Technology & Medicine; Business; and the Humanities.
Soup for the Unemployed
Human Services & Social Sciences Databases
- Proquest Social Science Databases This link opens in a new windowDisciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
- Proquest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and dissertations focusing on the field of psychology; topics include clinical and social psychology, as well as related topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare.
- SAGE Premier Journals This link opens in a new windowSAGE provides access to a wide range of journals in the Life, Social & Physical Sciences; Technology & Medicine; Business; and the Humanities.
- PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new windowDatabase of approximately 32,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. Includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology collection.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window"PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines...The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters."
- Research Starters: Sociology This link opens in a new windowA good starting point for your research on social science topics (including human services). Start here to find out about a topic and find further articles in books in the bibliography and Recommended Reading sections.
Research Tutorials
These tutorials are geared toward students of Emergency and Disaster Management, but they are also useful for any student who wants to learn or brush up on the research tasks below.
Keywords for Your Research
- Generating Keywords for Successful SearchingThis guide from the University of Washington will show you how to create good keywords for searching the database. Better keywords=better (and quicker) search.
Education Databases
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowProduced by the federal Department of Education, ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If possible, links to full text in Adobe PDF format are included.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 520 education journals and nearly 230 educational reports.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowCovers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.