LibGuides: Business: Databases

Company Information Ideas

These databases provide some of the following types of information:

Company profiles
History
Competitors
S.W.O.T analysis
Financials
Annual reports
SEC filings
Sock/investment information
Markert share information
Brands
Industry information
News articles

Understanding Corporate Research

Researching Publicly Traded Corporations
This Webinar covers using the the Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR database to research publicly traded corporations. You'll learn how to find a company's major investors, director biographies and compensation, financing relationships, and more.
Edgar Database
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) system provides access to information regarding submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC"). The database is freely available to the public.

Featured Resources

Privco: Private Company Financial Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Privco specializes in difficult to find data, on those companies not held publicly or traded on the stock market, including: family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

Business Stats and Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistical portal, focusing on quantitative data within media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Fully searchable, Statista also includes great infographics and charts on hundreds of topics.

LittleSis
A free database of who-knows-who at the heights of business and government

Business Databases

Business Insights Essentials This link opens in a new window
Business periodicals and company profiles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Proquest Business Databases This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market and industry reports, business cases and global news. Includes Barron's financial news coverage.
Small Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 180 full-text periodicals about issues relating to small business.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
One of the top databases for legal research, used by attorneys, faculty and students across the world. Includes essential federal and state court cases; scholarly articles from law reviews; and statutes from the US government plus all 50 states.

NOTE: When logging in, your web browser may read this as an "unsafe site", though it is not. Please add Westlaw as a exception by using the option provided.

General Reference

General reference encyclopedias (like Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference) are excellent places to get background information about your topic. Background information will help you start your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo provides access to over 350 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. This is a great place to begin your research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Check out specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in the humanities and social sciences.