This is the "Subjects" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Last Updated: Jan 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mcny.edu/databases Print Guide

Subjects Print Page
  Search: 
 

New Databases

  • IBISWorld
    Well researched, accurate and current business information; analysis of economic, demographic and government data about America’s 700+ industries.
  • Social Explorer
    Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
  • Research Starters: Sociology
    A great starting point: search here for an overview of a social science topic with suggested articles and books to read for more information.

General Databases

  • EbscoHost
    Search multiple subjects at once in this general database.
  • ProQuest
    A large multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text.
  • Films on Demand
    Access video content of educational, current events, and news films and documentaries.

Research Guides by Subject

Find articles, awesome web and governmental resources, and sources for statistics by the subject of your program, class, or CA.

Science and Health Databases

Humanities Databases

  • Humanities Full Text
    Full text of scholarly sources, feature articles, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama and poetry and reviews of literature, theater and art
  • Proquest's Arts and Humanities Databses
    Resources covering literature, history and art
  • Twayne Authors Series
    In-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and the development of literary genres.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    Access to full text articles published after 1980 from popular magazines about philosophy and religion.
  • JSTOR
    Interdisciplinary full text archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.

Streaming Video

  • Films on Demand
    Access video content of educational, current events, and news films and documentaries. Includes BBC Education films and documentaries, National Geographic Films, Ken Burns documentaries, TED Talks, American Natural History Museum documentaries, The Open University series, History Channel specials, NBC and ABC News specials, PBS Frontline, American Experience, NOVA, and more.

Business Databases

  • Business Abstracts with Full Text  
      
    Includes product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports.
  • Business Insights Essentials
    Business periodicals and company profiles.
  • Business Source Premier
    Full text and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals in all disciplines of business,
  • Hoover's
    Covers public, private and international companies. Includes overviews, major industry trends, industry links and IPO information
  • IBISWorld
    Well researched, accurate and current business information; analysis of economic, demographic and government data about America’s 700+ industries.
  • Lexis Nexis
    Provides full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources.
  • Proquest Business Databases
    Scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market and industry reports, business cases and global news. Includes Barron's financial News Coverage.

Human Service and Social Science Databases

  • Proquest's Social Science Databases
    Disciplines covered include anthropology, criminology, education, political science, sociology, psychology and more.
  • Psychology Collection
    Access to 200 full-text periodicals relating to psychology.
  • Research Starters: Sociology
    A good starting point for your research on social science topics (including human services). Start here to find out about a topic and find further articles in books in the bibliography and Recommended Reading sections.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (Ebsco)
    Full text access to material covering both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
  • SAGE Premier
    SAGE provides access to a wide range of journals across Business, Humanities, and the Social Sciences.

Education Databases

  • Education Full Text
    Full-text source of education scholarship.Topics, include adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education and teaching methods
  • ERIC Full Text
    ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If possible, links to full text in Adobe PDF format are included.
  • Professional Development Collection
    Full text for more than 520 education journals and nearly 230 educational reports

Statistical Information

  • American FactFinder
    Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys
  • Historical Census Browser
    Census data ranging from 1790-1960 Users can limit searches by many variables including gender, age, education & literacy. Data is available by state and by country. Maintained by the University of Virginia.
  • Infoshare
    Access to community data about New York City developed by Urban Studies faculty at CUNY.
  • New York State Data Center
    "The state’s primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of New York, its businesses and people."
  • ProQuest Statistical Abstract
    Provides access to Statistical Abstract of the United States; a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
  • Proquest Statistical Insight
    Provides comprehensive access to statistical information. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, and then link to the full-text of selected publications on statistical and government Web sites.
  • Social Explorer
    Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
  • Statistical Abstract (goverment site)
    Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The data comes from the U.S. census and is made available by the federal government.
 

Ask a Librarian

Sorry, we're offline. Please email us at library@mcny.edu

Trial Databases

Try out these resources that is the library is testing. Limited Time Only.

  • Statista.com
    Statista aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.

Need to cite it?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip