Resources for Legal Research : Foreign and International Law

Official treaty website, includes explanatory reports as well as texts.

Treaties searchable by keyword, title, year, and place.

Includes list of treaties frequently cited in law review articles, along with available sources of hard copy. Entries are linked to the EISIL database of the American Society of International Law.

Provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), an organization that promoted international commerce and the reduction of trade barriers among member states from 1947-1994.

Dept. of State website, includes Treaties in Forces and frequently updated list of treaties pending in the Senate.

Overview of key terms used in the UN Treaty Collection to refer to international instruments: treaties, agreements, conventions, charters, protocols, declarations, memoranda of understanding, modus vivendi and exchange of notes.

Collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946.

Find text of national and state constitutions.

Browse and compare constitutions of various countries by country or by topic. Constitute was developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project in collaboration with Google.

ERG is designed for use by students, teachers, practitioners and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law.

Primary source materials in law, history, and diplomacy.

GlobaLex guide, describes basic strategies for finding the laws of countries other than the U.S, primarily in English. The emphasis is on codes and laws rather than cases. The guide will also help you find secondary materials that describe other countries' laws. It includes links to websites and to other guides.

Information on people, economy, geography, and political situation of most countries around the world.

Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

From the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies. Eagle-i is designed to help legal researchers find relevant information on the Internet - providing insight into authoritative web resources and the most reliable sites and materials, through site profiles, content assessments and well-maintained dynamic links. Coverage includes: UK, European, Foreign, Comparative and International law.

EISIL, from the American Society of International Law, includes authenticated primary and other materials in international law.

Offers practical guides, checklists, case reports, detailed legal analysis, and a current awareness email alerting service and an extensive library of categorized web links. From international law firm Simmons & Simmons. Requires registration.

GLIN includes the official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.

GlobaLex provides guides to international and foreign law research written by scholars well known in their respective fields. from the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

Published by federal governments worldwide, government gazettes are primary sources and the means through which the government can communicate to officials and the general public.

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library collects more than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments.

From Riga Graduate School of Law, includes coverage of primary and secondary sources of law worldwide.

Part of Cornell's Legal Information Institute. Gathers primary materials by country.

Part of the Law Library of Congress Guide to Law Online. Includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information on many countries.

The Law Library of Congress resource guide to finding translations of the laws of Afghanistan, Argentina, Brazil, China, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, and Russia. There are also two international guides on International Organizations and International Courts. The guide was prepared for the American Society of International Law 106th Annual Meeting Pre-Conference: "Conveying Meaning: Legal Interpretation, Translation, and Publishing."

International law site includes links to international courts and tribunals

AustLII includes case law as well as over 280 databases from Australasian jurisdictions.

BaiLII includes British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.

Provides direct free access to European Union law, including the Official Journal of the European Union as well as the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals

Provides case law, basic texts, reports, news, and information on pending cases.

Resource for French, German, Italian, Austrian and Israeli legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law translated into English.

Includes basic documents, cases, news and press releases.

Includes legal texts, case law, and information about the court.

Official revised edition of the primary legislation of the United Kingdom made available online

Provides a single search facility for databases located on the Legal Information Institute websites worldwide.