Resources for Legal Research : Statutes

Available through the New York State Legislative Information Service. Includes New York City Charter and Code (links are under Miscellaneous).

Bill text and status, sponsor memos, and floor votes beginning with the 1995 legislative session.

FDSys searchable version of the U.S. Code.

Downloadable version from the Office of the Law Revision Counsel.

Law Library of Congress guide to the U.S. Constitution, includes texts and commentaries, historical texts, documents that influenced the writing of the Constitution, and other legal guides.

Law Library of Congress guide to the legislative process and Congress, includes overview, procedural manuals, Congressional Record, and other Congressional reports and publications.

Current and historical legislative information, including Congressional bill summaries and status, the Congressional Record, presidential nominations, treaties, and research guides.

FDSys site, contains the text of public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress (1995-1996) to the present. Beginning with the 110th Congress (2007-2008), the laws are digitally signed and certified.

Subscription service for municipal codes in all 50 states, with some free content, including the White Plains municipal code.

Available through the New York State Legislature website.

The NYC Construction Codes consist of the General Administrative Provisions, Building Code, Plumbing Code, Mechanical Code, Fuel Gas Code, and Energy Conservation Code. All other Codes, Bulletins, Code Notes, Rules, and Local Laws can be accessed here, too.

Available from the New York State Legislature website.

PDF version, also available in Word, provided by Louisiana State University.

Links to committee reports and other documents.

Includes congressional reports, hearings and documents.

From the NY State Library, available beginning with 1995.

Pace Law Library guide by special collections librarian Gail Whittemore.

Part of the American Memory Project, includes searchable text and images for U.S. congressional documents and debates, 1774-1875.

From Cornell's LII, provides links to statutes, constitutions, and case law for all 50 states.

Law Library of Congress links to state and territory websites.

Pace Law Library guide includes links to websites to state legislatures and state legislative history.

Track legislation from all 50 states.

From Cornell's LII, provides breakdown of state statutes by commonly used topics.