Healthcare Management: Web Resources

Promotes the efforts of schools of public health to improve health through education, research, and policy

Works to accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States.

EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.

Healthcare Financial Management Association. Having over 35,000 members that range from CFOs to accountants that may be found in hospitals, physician's practices, accounting firms and more, the HFMA supports its members with education and coalitions.

Search health-related jobs by employer or location. Includes helpful articles and salary calculators.

"Kaiser is a non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy." The KFF site features data, comparisons, and analysis on a variety of healthcare-related economic topics, on both the state and federal levels.

A "coalition of coalitions," this giant organization represents more than 10,000 employers. Formerly the National Business Coalition on Health.

Seeks to foster communication between legislative and executive branches of government to improve the policymaking process related to health issues.

Addresses the health challenges facing the world’s urban populations through interdisciplinary approaches to policy leadership, innovative research, evaluation, education, and community engagement

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. The mission, according the the website is to help, "public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health"

Foundation focused on the quality and performance of public health practice

Organization that seeks to improve health outcomes worldwide by "transforming health practitioners’ ability to apply information effectively."

Search individual states for demographics such as health status, insurance, and health costs and budgets.

A free resource to "help you choose programs and policies to improve health and prevent disease in your community"

Coordinating authority for health within the United Nations. Shapes global health research agenda, sets standards and articulates evidence-based policy options.

Federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services. Focuses on public health and safety by providing health related information and establishing partnerships with state health departments and other organizations

Previously known as the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), is a federal agency within the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) that administers the Medicare program and works in partnership with state governments to administer Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and health insurance portability standards.

Responsible for the regulation and supervision of food safety, tobacco products, dietary supplements, prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceutical drugs.

U. S. government website devoted to issues pertaining to health care. Provides detailed information on the Affordable Care Act of 2010.

An agency of the United States Department of Health and Human Services; responsible for biomedical and health-related research.

NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene includes a list of health topics, local health related statistics, publications and career opportunities

A Cabinet department of the United States government with the goal of providing essential human services.

The NY State Attorney General's Office keeps a searchable database of financial statements, audits, and applications for tax-exempt status for organizations that apply for tax-exemption. Search here for financial information and annual budgets of charities and other non-profit organizations, including hospitals and social service NPO's.

A database of hospital information

Unable to find the information you need? Ask a Government Librarian.

UPenn's Historical Nursing Digitization Project. Provides a view of the evolution of the nursing profession within the broader context of healthcare.

Open access publication focused on original research in the health services sector.

Open access publication which includes the latest developments in healthcare management theory and practice.

Open access publication covering both academic/theoretical content as well as timely, real-world developments and innovations, both within the U.S. and internationally.