LibGuides: American Government: Judicial, Legislative and Executive Branches

Credo Topic Pages

Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.

Legislative Branch

Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress
Search for biographical information on members of congress from 1774 to the present.
How Federal Law are Made
Outline of the legislative process compiled by the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress: Government Resources
Links to Congressional information from official and non-official sources, compiled by the Library of Congress
National Maps (Congressional Districts)
View or print maps of current congressional districts.
Roll Call
The official congressional newspaper
The U.S. House of Representatives
The homepage of the United States House of Representatives.
The U.S. Senate
The homepage of the United States Senate
The Legislative Branch
The White House webpage outlining the role of the Legislative Branch in the federal goverment

Judicial Branch

Federal Judicial Center
The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the federal judicial system established by Congress. It is charged with continuing education and training for federal judges, court employees, and others; developing recommendations and conducting and promoting research on federal judicial procedures, court operations, and history.
History of the Federal Judiciary
Historical information about judges, landmark legislation, oral histories and educational resources.
Judicial Branch (whitehouse.gov)
The White House webpage outlining the role of the Judicial Branch in federal government
Supreme Court
Official site of the Supreme Court
The Supreme Court Database
The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms
United States Courts: Educational Resources
Useful and clear information about the constitution, amendments and the basic structure of the court system
United States Federal Courts
Official government website devoted to the federal courts. Includes information on judges, court records, statistical information and educational resources .

Executive Branch

Executive Branch (whitehouse.gov)
The White House webpage outlining the role of the Executive Branch in the federal government
White House
The official website of the Office of the President of the United States.
The American Presidency Project
A searchable database composed of 100,682 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Find information on every election dating back to 1789 (Hint: George Washington won), among other features. Maintained by the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Presidential Libraries
List of Presidential Libraries and background information about the libraries from the National Archives and Records Administration.

Ask a Government Librarian

Goverment Information Online
Unable to find the information you need? Ask a Government Librarian.